Structural Engineering Institute Illinois Chapter (SEI-IL)

About SEI

The Structural Engineering Institute (SEI) is a vibrant community of more than 20,000 structural engineers within the American Society of Civil Engineers.  SEI started on October 1, 1996 in order to serve the unique needs of the structural engineering community while influencing change on broader issues that shape the entire civil engineering community.

Because SEI members are leaders in structural engineering practice and academia, SEI provides great networking opportunities while stimulating coordination and understanding between academia and practicing engineers - driving the practical application of cutting edge research.

SEI produces technical publications, journals, conferences, continuing education , codes and standards, and professional practice documents that advance the structural engineering profession.

SEI advances our members' careers, stimulates technological advancement, and improves professional practice.

Visit the National Website by clicking here:  Structural Engineering Institute

About SEI-IL

The Structural Engineering Institute (SEI) Illinois Chapter focuses on creating professional development activities and networking opportunities for structural engineers in the ASCE Illinois Section.


(See Illinois Section Calendar)



SEI Illinois Chapter 2014 Scholarship

The Structural Engineering Institute (SEI) Illinois Chapter is seeking candidates for an academic scholarship in the amount of $1,500. The scholarship will be awarded to an undergraduate/graduate student at the ASCE National President Elect/Student Awards Dinner in April 2014.  All applications should be postmarked by Friday, March 7, 2014.  Click here for the scholarship application form.


SEI Illinois Chapter Local Structures Photo Contest Winners

Individual Bridge Category & Overall Individual Category Winner

Rise Toward the Sky (Marcin Krok)

Overall Company Category Winner

Kishwaukee York Bridge in Dekalb, IL (York Bridge Concepts, Inc.)



OFFICERS, 2013-2014 Click here for Contact information

Brett Sauter, P.E., S.E. - Chair
This position attends monthly ASCE-IL board meetings; prepares agenda and leads monthly SEI-IL committee meetings; acts as a liaison to ASCE-IL Board, SEI, and SEAOI; and compiles the information on the ASCE-IL website.

Dennis F. Morgan, P.E., S.E. - Past Chair

This position provides input to the SEI Illinois Chapter as needed.

Andrew J. Keaschall, P.E., S.E. - Vice Chair
This position coordinates the monthly dinner meetings including scheduling, location, menu, and gifts. The Vice Chair attends the

SEI LAD annual meeting in the fall after their term (as incoming Chair). The Vice Chair also substitutes for the Chair as needed.

Nathan P. Holmer, E.I. - Treasurer
This position keeps financial records for the group, handles the group’s income and expenses, and submits monthly reports to the group. 

Marcin J. Krok, P.E., S.E. - Secretary
This position prepares and distributes monthly committee meeting minutes; maintains the Gmail database of contacts; and maintains the database of speakers, vendors and sponsors.  This position also advertises and takes registrations for dinner meetings & events.

Kendra Bleers, P.E. - Special Events
This position organizes special events such as holiday dinner, field trips and tours that are of interest to structural engineers.

Jessy Rojas, P.E. - Student Liaison
This position maintains contact with university student chapters, solicits applications for the annual SEI Illinois Chapter scholarship(s) to be presented at the President Elect/Student Awards dinner every April, reviews applications, and notifies the winner(s).

Jason Krohn , P.E.- Training

This position investigates and plans multiple training events such as NHI courses.

Joseph M. Kauzlarich , E.I. - Web Administrator
This position maintains the SEI-IL website and updates the ASCE-IL Google calendar.




SEI-IL typically offers two $2500 scholarships to undergraduate/graduate members of ASCE student chapters within the Illinois Section.  This includes the University of Illinois-Chicago, Northwestern University, and the Illinois Institute of Technology.  Look out for the new application in January 2013.

Congratulations to the 2012 SEI-IL Scholarship award recipients!

The awards were presented at the President Elect Dinner/Student Scholarship Dinner.

2012 Structural Group Scholarship Winners

L to R:  Stephanie Coad (SEI-IL Student Liaison), Jameelah C. Muhammad (SEI-IL Chair), Victor Van Santen (SEI-IL Past Chair), Timothy Smith (IIT Scholarship Winner), Maya Stuhlbarg (Northwestern University Scholarship Winner), Andrew Keaschall (SEI-IL Treasurer), Dennis Morgan (SEI-IL Vice Chair).


2011 Structural Group Scholarship Winners

L to R:  Bill Cussen (ASCE-IL President-Elect), Zaki Ali (SEI0IL Student Liaison), Raguez Taha (UIC Scholarship Winner), Andrew Herrmann (ASCE National President-Elect), and Victor Van Santen (SEI-IL Chair).  Not shown (he was in Peru) is Sebastian Galvez (Northwestern University Scholarship Winner).



New for 2012, SEI-IL and ASCE Illinois Section sponsored six students to attend the 2012 Structures Congress.  See the events archive for more information about the conference.

L to R:  Jameelah C. Muhammad, P.E., SEI-IL Chair, Maya Stuhlbarg, Moshe Cohen, Jason Shattuck, Mojtaba Dirbaz, Orest Alickolli, and Jennifer Goupil, P.E., Director of SEI at the 2012 Structures Congress.


Design Competition

The Structural Engineering Institute of ASCE sponsors a structural design competition for universities.

Innovative projects demonstrating excellence in structural engineering are invited for submission.

Visit this link to see more about the most recent competition:

SEI/ASCE Student Structural Design Competition


(L to R)  Jameelah C. Muhammad (SEI-IL Chair), Victor Van Santen (SEI-IL Past Chair),

Jason Krohn (SEI-IL Training Coordinator), Dennis Morgan (SEI-IL Vice Chair),

Nate Morris (Former SEI-IL Chair), Julie Rivera (SEI-IL Member),

and Zaida Morillo (Former SEI-IL Chair) at the ASCE Illinois Section Dinner.

2013 Biennial Lecture Series at the Union League Club

Hossam M. Abdou of Alfred Benesch and Company speaking at the 2013 Biennial Lecture Series

Daniel Burke of CDOT speaking at the 2013 Biennial Lecture Series

Justin Barton of Walter P. Moore and Associates, Inc. speaking at the 2013 Biennial Lecture Series

Speakers and Panelists for Session 3 of the 2013 Biennial Lecture Series.

L to R:  Carrie Warner of Halvorson and Partners, Justin Barton of Walter P. Moore and Associates, Inc.,

Brandon Chavel of HDR Engineering, Inc., Myint Lwin of FHWA, Gary Powell of Stantec,

Ken Nizamuddin of RME, and Bob Sinn of Thornton Tomasetti.


(L to R) Stephanie Coad (SEI-IL Student Liaison) and Andrew Keaschall (SEI-IL Treasurer) at the

March 2012 SEI-IL Technical Dinner Meeting.


Victor Van Santen and Dennis Morgan at 2012 Future City Competition

Jameelah C. Muhammad at the ASCE Illinois Section booth at the Chicago Architecture Foundation event

during National Engineers Week 2012.

Andrew Keaschall leading the 2011 SEI-IL Structural Engineering Tour at the Wacker Drive Project Site.

Brett Sauter moderating a session at the 2012 Structures Congress.



Visit the Events Archive to view a page of past SEI-IL events.