10th Annual Legislative Visit to Springfield

Thursday May 18, 2017

As part of Infrastructure Week 2017, the Illinois Section ASCE along with our other partnering Illinois ASCE Sections and Branches are converging on Springfield to speak with our elected officials about the importance of infrastructure investment and funding. Infrastructure Week is a national week of education and advocacy that brings together American businesses, workers, elected leaders and everyday citizens around one message: #TimeToBuild.

Please join us in highlighting the state of our State’s infrastructure – roads, bridges, rail, ports, airports, water and sewer systems, the energy grid and more and to encourage policy makers to invest in the projects, technologies and polices needed to help bring up our crumbling infrastructure to meet our 21st Century needs.

There is no cost for this event. Register now!

May 18, 2017 Itinerary

* 11:00 am – 1:00 pm – ASCE Luncheon with Special Speaker Senator Karen McConnaughay

Luncheon Itinerary (at Wyndham Springfield City Centre – Vista Room 29th Floor)

11:00 am – Meet and Greet (Attendees pick up packets)

11:30 pm – Lunch is served

11:45 pm – Presentation by Senator Karen McConnaughay

12:15 pm – Speaker Q&A

12:30 pm – ISASCE discussion on messaging and what to discuss with Legislators

* 1:00 pm – Meetings and visits with State Senators and Representatives

* 4:00 pm – Informal networking Happy Hour



Thera Novotny:

Sarah Klarich: – Ride Share Program

Sponsored By:





How to contact your elected officials:

If you are attending, we recommend that you reach out to your State Senator and Representative to let them know you are coming and if possible, would like to meet with them.

They are in session so they are going to be busy, but they might be able to squeeze you in for 5 minutes.  We would recommend that you call or email them (information can be found on their websites or on the Illinois General Assembly Page by clicking on either Senate or House “Members” and finding your legislator –

If you don’t know who your legislator is or how to contact them, feel free to start here to find out their names.



See Past Legislative Visits here